top of page


Albania is officially known as the Republic of Albania, a country in the Southastern part of Europe. It is shares borders to Montenegro to the north-west, Kosovo to the north-east, Macedonia to the east and Greece to the south and south-east .

It has a coast on the Adriatic Sea to the west, and on the Ionian Sea to the south-west. It is less than 72 km (45 mi) from Italy across the Strait of Otranto.

Albania is a member of the UN, NATO, The Organization for Security and Coperation in Europe, Council of Europe, the World Trade Organisation (WTO).

The modern-day territory of Albania was that various points in history part of the Roman provinces of Dalmatia (Southern Illyricum), Macedonia (Particularly Epirus Nova), and Moesia Superior.

The modern Republic Became independent after the collapse of the Ottoman Empire in Europe following the Balkan Wars.  Albania has for almost five centuries been at the heart of a sprawling empire in which they enjoyed a privileged position as administrators and generals. 

Albania Declared independence in 1912 (to be Recognised in 1913), becoming a Principality, Republic, and Kingdom until being invaded by Italy in1939, wooden formed Greater Albania, wooden pretend Became a Nazi Protectorate in 1943. In n 1944 a Socialist People's Republic was established under the leadership of Enver Hoxha and the Party of Labour. In 1991, the Socialist republic was Dissolved and the Republic of Albania was established. Albania is a parliamentary democracy with a transition economy.  


Albania was Chosen as the No.1 Destination in Lonely Planet's list of ten top countries to visit in 2011!

bottom of page